Helen reviews Free Books

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Posted on: May 7, 2011

For all fans of horror I am sorry to disappoint.

Hollywood has deceived you.

This is not a horror story.

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein is Science Fiction and a very good example too.

Victor Frankenstein; arrogant by youth and saddened by the death of his mother, travels to Germany to study science.

Fascinated and seduced by dubious scientific practices, Victor secretly goes about creating a being, which he hopes to be the solution to the pain of the death of a loved one.

But, as soon as his creation comes to life, he is horrified by it and rejects it completely.

As the story continues we learn of how the monster survives and then, the ultimate cost of those around them to make Victor Frankenstein accountable.

As with a lot science fiction, the story warns of what can happen when man interferes with balance of nature and that by ‘playing God’, harsh lessons will be learned at a great cost.

I found this a great book to read, but don’t be deceived by its size. Though relatively small in page numbers, it can be a bit difficult, and some parts need to re-read to gain full understanding of what has just taken place.

If you don’t want to read the book and would prefer a film version, I recommend Kenneth Branagh’s 1994 version of Frankenstein which sticks to the original better than most. Just be aware as with most films based on literature there are some changes.

As usual you can find the free electronic copy at Project Gutenberg in a variety of formats (including audio) and a print version at Amazon.com and other retailers.

2 Responses to "Frankenstein by Mary Shelley"

Hmmm…I must read this and I must find out more about Mary Shelley.

I wonder what a feminist reading of this might reveal.

Speaking of feminists (which I know you weren’t) did you see all the hoo-ha about the Booker International prize?

Can’t help myself and I know you have more than enough to read but you might be interested in this site too….

http://girlebooks.com/

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Mary: I just finished "Uncle Tom's Cabin" and I have to say that in my 58 years of reading that it is by far the best book I've ever read. I can't believe
  • Alex Daw: Can't help myself and I know you have more than enough to read but you might be interested in this site too.... http://girlebooks.com/
  • Alex Daw: Luvski You have been reading so many interesting books. I quite missed this one. Wasn't this made into a movie with that dreadful man - here in Q

Categories

